Arizona Game and FIsh Department - Managing Today for Wildlife Tomorrow: azgfd.gov Arizona Game and Fish Department
  

Phone Number
BUY LICENSES | BIG GAME DRAW | eNEWS | CALENDAR | VIDEO | HUNTING | FISHING | WILDLIFE VIEWING | CONSERVATION | EDUCATION | BOATING | SHOOTING | OHV | SITE MAP | EMPLOYMENT
 
AZGFD Home
expand icon eServices
expanded icon Newsroom
expand icon Hunting & Fishing
   
Hunting

Fishing

-
- Sport Fish Species
- Where to Fish
- Urban Fishing
- Weekly Fishing Report
- Lake Levels/River Flow
- Stocking Schedule
- Fish Consumption Advisories
- State Records
- Big Fish-of-the-Year
- Hatcheries
Resources
expand icon Outdoor Recreation
expand icon Wildlife & Conservation
expand icon Education & Outreach
expand icon Inside AZGFD
Customer Service
 
Fishing Rules & Regulations
 
A valid fishing or combination license is required for resident and nonresident anglers 10 years of age or older fishing any public accessible water in Arizona. Youth under the age of 10 and blind residents do not need to purchase a state fishing license to fish in Arizona.

Arizona's fish and wildlife belong to all of us, so when someone takes an over-limit, it's like taking fish off your stringer and putting it on theirs. Bag and possession limits are designed to give everyone an equal chance and protect the fishery. If you see someone breaking the law, call Operation Game Thief toll free (800) 352-0700 immediately, 24-hours a day.
 
Regulations & Applications
  • 2014 AZ Fishing Regulations [PDF]
    A valid fishing or combination license is required for resident and nonresident anglers 10 years of age or older fishing any public accessible water in Arizona. Youth under the age of 10 and blind residents do not need to purchase a state fishing license to fish in Arizona.

  • 2014 Community Fishing Program Guidebook [PDF]
    Community Fishing is a cooperative program between the Arizona Game and Fish Department and the cities of Chandler, Gilbert, Mesa, Payson,Peoria, Phoenix, Sahuarita, Scottsdale, Surprise, Tempe and Tucson.
  • 2013 Amphibian and Reptile Regulations [PDF]
    A valid fishing license is required for taking any aquatic wildlife, including amphibians or soft-shelled turtles, from public waters. See A.R.S. 17-331. A valid hunting license is required for taking reptiles other than soft-shelled turtles. See A.R.S. 17-331.
  • Arizona's Lifetime License Program [PDF]
    Arizona's lifetime general hunting and fishing license program is a unique opportunity for resident sportsmen and sportswomen to participate in the long-term funding of Arizona's Wildlife Conservation programs.
  • Application for Pioneer License [PDF]
    A pioneer seventy years of age or older who has been a resident of this state for twenty-five or more consecutive years is eligible for this complimentary license valid for a lifetime without renewal.
  • Arizona Residency Requirements [PDF]
 
Rules
  • Arizona Game and Fish Laws and Rules [PDF]
  • Arizona Game and Fish Laws and Rules Supplement [PDF]
  • Arizona Game and Fish Laws and Rules Supplement [PDF] effective - Jun 17, 2013
  • Arizona Game and Fish Laws and Rules Supplement [PDF] effective - July 1, 2013
 
 
 
 
Related AZGFD Info
- Watercraft
- Sport Fishing Education
- Economic Impact
- Sign up for AZGFD eNews
- Wildlife Photo Gallery
 
Downloads [More]

Fishing &
Reptile/ Amphibian Regulations

  • 2014 AZ Fishing Regulations
    [PDF, 7mb]


  • 2014 Urban Fishing Guidebook
    [PDF, 9mb]


  • 2013 Amphibian and Reptile Regulations [PDF]



  • Arizona Residency Requirements
    [PDF]
 

Mission | Frequently Asked Questions | Web Policy | Send Comments | Employment | Commission Agenda | Office Locations | Site Map | Search | © 2013 AZGFD