U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Mexican Gray Wolf
Rewntroduction Fact Sheet for
Guides, Outfitters, and Forest Visitors:

Mexican gray wolves have been
reintroduced into the Apache-

Sitgreaves National Forest and the
Fort Apache Indian Reservation in

Arizona, and the Gila National
Forest in New Mexico.

Mexican gray wolves are protected
under the Endangered Species Act.

Care should be exercised when

hunting or trapping in wolf recovery

areas to avoid Kkilling or injuring a

Mexican gray wolf. Hunters must be

sure of their target.

For more information on the Mexican

wolf program, contact the Interagency

Field Office at 928/339-4329 or
1-888/459-9653, the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service at 505/346-2525,
the Arizona Game and Fish
Department at 928/367-4281, the
New Mexico Department of Game

and Fish at 505/476-8101, the Fort

Apache Indian Reservation at
928/338-4385, or visit the Mexican
gray wolf web page:
http://mexicanwolf.fws.gov

or at http://azgfd.com

For law enforcement issues,
contact your local game warden,
and call the U.S. Fish and Wildlife

Service Law Enforcement Division

in Arizona at 928/333-5245, and in
New Mexico call 505/346-7828. To
report sightings or incidents, call
the 24-hour Mexican wolf number
at 1-888/459-9653, or the Arizona
Game and Fish Department’s
24-hour dispatch (Operation Game
Thief) at 1-800/352-0700.

Recommendations

Respect posted wildlife closures.
Treat wolves and other wildlife
animals with respect.

e Never feed a wild animal.
Keep food and garbage in
airtight containers.

e Dispose of gray water per
camping regulations and only
in designated areas.

e Keep dogs under control at all
times and leashed when possible.

e Should you hear or see wolves

near your camp:

Contain dogs in tent or vehicle

if possible; and,

Frighten or harass wolves

away, if necessary.

You May Legally:

Harass a wolf without injuring
it, but you must report it

within seven days;

Kill or injure a wolf that is in
the act of killing, wounding, or
biting your cattle, sheep, horses,
mules, or burros on your private
or tribal land, but you must
report it within 24 hours;

Kill, injure, or harass a wolf in
defense of human life, but you
must report it within 24 hours.

You May Not Legally:

Kill or injure a wolf that is in
the act of killing, wounding, or
biting your cattle, sheep, horses,
mules, or burros on public land;
Kill or injure a wolf just
because it is near you or

your property;

Kill or injure a wolf that
attacks your pet;

Kill or injure a wolf feeding on
dead livestock;

Enter official closures around
occupied release pens, active
dens, and rendezvous sites;
Shoot a wolf because you
thought is was a coyote or
something else (you are
responsible for identifying your
target before shooting); or
Attempt to do any of the above
actions or solicit someone else
to do them.

Violations of the above rules may
subject you to prosecution. Criminal
penalties may be imprisonment of
not more than one year and a fine of
up to $50,000 and/or a civil penalty
of up to $25,000. For more
information on the Mexican wolf
visit our web page at: http:/
mexicanwolf.fws.gov
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